APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION TO ACQUIRE CONTROL OF A
MONEY TRANSMITTER LICENSEE
Please provide notice to our office at least 60 days prior to acquisition per K.S.A. 9-509(c).
A fee in the amount of $500 will be assessed for this application. Please submit payment, along with
the completed form to the:

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER
700 SW JACKSON STREET, SUITE 300
TOPEKA, KS 66603

Background: It is unlawful for a person, acting directly or indirectly or through concert with one or
more persons, to acquire control of any person engaged in money transmission through purchase,
assignment, pledge or other disposition of voting shares of such money transmitter without prior
approval of the commissioner.

As defined in the Kansas Money Transmitter Act, “control” means the power directly or indirectly to
direct management or policies of a person engaged in money transmission or to vote 25% or more of any
class of voting shares of a person engaged in money transmission.

If more than one person is acquiring control, each person must complete this form; however, only one
fee is required for the multiple forms.

1. Name of Applicant:
Address, City, State, Zip:

2. Contact Person for this Application
Email Phone

3. Name of Money Transmitter Licensee:
Address, City, State, Zip:

4. The applicant currently holds shares or ( %) of the voting stock of, or %
ownership interest in the licensed money transmitter.

5 The applicant proposes to hold shares ( %) of the voting stock of, or
% ownership interest in the licensed money transmitter following the acquisition.

6. Has the applicant or any of its affiliates (or former affiliates), principals, directors, officers,
members, trustees or partners applied for a license with this Office within the last ten years?
Yes _ No___Ifyes, attach complete details of the outcome of the application including
dates of approval, denial or withdrawal.

7. Has the applicant or any of its affiliates (or former affiliates), principals, directors, officers,
members, trustees or partners ever been refused a license to engage in any business or had any
such license suspended or revoked by any state or federal agency, or surrendered a license in lieu



10.

of threatened or pending license revocation, license suspension or other regulatory or
enforcement action?
Yes No If yes, attach complete details of the refusal, suspension or revocation.

Has the applicant or any of its affiliates (or former affiliates), principals, directors, officers,
members, trustees or partners ever entered into, or otherwise agreed to the entry of, a settlement
or consent order, decree, or agreement with or by a state or federal regulatory agency, or has any
state or federal regulatory agency ever (i) imposed a fine upon such person or entity, (ii) required
any such person or entity to make restitution or refunds to consumers in excess of $20,000, (iii)
ordered any such person or entity to cease and/or desist from engaging in a particular act or
practice, or (iv) taken any other regulatory or enforcement action against any such person or
entity (excluding license revocation or suspension addressed in Question 7)?

Yes  No___ Ifyes, please provide complete details.

Describe any changes to the surety bond and/or the licensee’s status with the Kansas Secretary of
State’s office relating to the acquisition.

Please provide the following in a separate attachment:

e Completed NMLS KS Money Transmitter License Amendment Checklist.

e Business background of each applicant.

¢ Financial statement for each applicant directly or indirectly acquiring control of the money
transmitter unless the financial statement is already on file with the OSBC.

e Copy of all applicable purchase agreements, plans or proposals to liquidate the money
transmitter, to sell its assets, or merge it with any company or to make any other major
change in its business or corporate structure or management.

e Organization chart showing both pre-acquisition and post-acquisition changes.

Instructions:

o File this application with our office at least 60 days prior to acquisition per K.S.A. 9-509(c).
The completed form and payment should be sent to the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner, 700 SW Jackson Street, Suite 300, Topeka, KS 66603.

e A fee in the amount of $500 will be assessed for this application.

» Fee may be invoiced via the NMLS upon request.

¢ In addition, fingerprints/criminal background check(s) will be required of each natural person
who is a new owner. Please submit all criminal background checks (CBCs) through the
NMLS and grant Kansas authorization to view CBC results.

e All inquiries concerning this application may be directed to:

Bailey Burghart

700 SW Jackson St., Ste. 300
Topeka, KS 66603
785-318-7544

MTL icensing@osbckansas.org

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Kansas that the foregoing is true and

correct. Executed on this day of

(day) (month) (year)

Name (Type or Print)

Signature

Revised 01/2020


mailto:MTLicensing@osbckansas.org

